Lasts

I’ve hit several lasts in the past week. As I mentioned a couple of days ago, I has my last undergraduate creative-writing class. On Saturday, when I turned in my unit test, I finished the last class that I will ever have to take that is not directly related to my course of study. (The class was Introduction to Earth Science. We studied geology, oceanography, and meteorology.)

My last concert performing with Twin Cities Gay Men’s Chorus, I had thought I hadn’t reached yet, but I have. Because events colluded such that I needed to turn in my resignation early, my last performance was actually last June, and of course, at the time, I had no idea it would be my last performance. I did, however, attend the closing holiday concert as an audience member yesterday afternoon. It is the tradition at all of our concerts to close with a “signature song“, and we encourage our audience members to join in. (We print the lyrics in the program, but our regulars know the song.) It’s an oldie called “Walk Hand in Hand“, arranged a little differently to better suit a chorus. Here it is:

So yesterday was most likely the last time I will ever sing that song with my chorus.

I will most likely be moving from Minneapolis roundabout July, and I’m trying to make a list of all the things that I need to do and haven’t yet, and all the things I want to do one more time. Because I’ve been putting off committing this list to the written word, I think I will make it here.

Do once before I leave:

Do one last time before I leave

If I gave it a lot of thought, I could probably make each of these lists much longer. But I want to be realistic about what I can pull off.

Of course, the most important thing of all I want to do before leaving is to spend as much time with my friends as possible. I’ve been very lucky to get to know some amazing people here.

In other news, I’m settling quite nicely into my winter break. Because of the odd way the holidays fall this year, I get a whole month off. I will rest and work on my remaining graduate-school applications.

So, nothing particularly literary about this entry, but that will not be the case in the near future.

About Whittier Strong

Whittier Strong is an MFA student in creative writing at the University of Alaska-Fairbanks, with a focus in nonfiction. He graduated from Metropolitan State University with a BA in creative writing. He has special interests in sociology and philosophy.

Posted on 16 December, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Wait, the last Holidazzle EVER? The website doesn’t mention that. What happened? 😦 I’ve never seen it.

    • I don’t remember where I heard that. But when you see that the transition from Marshall Fields to Target sponsorship hasn’t been perfect, when they’ve radically cut back the schedule (from four days a week to two a week), and with one of the downtown anchor stores closed (since Holidazzle was invented to entice downtown shopping after the opening of the Mall of America), it’s at least fair to say it’s on its last legs. Gone the way of the Marshall Fields, I mean, Macy’s winter displays actually changing from one year to the next.

Share your thoughts

