Morris

I was pleasantly surprised by the little uptick in readership yesterday.  It is certainly enough of a motivator to write here a little more often.

At the moment, I am in the town of Morris, Minnesota, about three hours west of the Twin Cities and near some Dakota or other.  I am here for the Prairie Gate Literary Festival the University of Minnesota-Morris.  The town is small, about 5,000, and to me, quintessentially small-town Midwest.  In other words, it is very familiar but not entirely comfortable.

This is my first professional conference.  For the next day and a half, I will attend readings and workshops, as well as doing what I enjoy most: meeting new people.  Business cards in tow, I hope to find a bit of camaraderie and kinship, and perhaps even learn more about MFA programs here in the Midwest.

I will be sure to give an overview when I return to Minneapolis on Sunday.  Meanwhile, I’m about to head off for the evening’s activities.

About Whittier Strong

Whittier Strong is an MFA student in creative writing at the University of Alaska-Fairbanks, with a focus in nonfiction. He graduated from Metropolitan State University with a BA in creative writing. He has special interests in sociology and philosophy.

Posted on 22 February, 2013, in Personal life, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Good to meet you at the conference, Whittier. Keep on writing. I’ve enjoyed reading a few of your blog posts. Your life experiences are really something.

  2. Thank you, Patti, it was great to meet you as well. I really enjoyed our conversation.

Share your thoughts

