Onward

So, here I sit, a writer with a blog I don’t write because I don’t like blogging.  I don’t like the idea that we attempt to unpack complex issues in a format that is not suited to such unpacking.  And so I don’t write here.  I’m stuck with this blog thinking of what I want to do with it.

But I’ve done a little digging recently and found some inspiration.  First off, I looked at the blogs of serious, best-selling, big-league writers.  I noticed that a lot of them don’t post frequently, so at least I’m in good company.  And when they do post, it’s something they have put a lot of work, thought, and time into.  I think that’s a good model for me.  I know I’ve talked about something to this effect before, but without knowing any good role model out there for me, I was afraid of doing so looking like a half-hearted attempt.

But there is something I would like to blog about on a regular basis.  I plan on entering a Creative Writing MFA program in Fall 2014.  I have been doing a lot of research on the subject, but those efforts can be frustrating at times.  I feel like there are a lot of us who are trying to hunt down the best program, but feel a bit overwhelmed by the information (or sometimes the lack thereof).  I think that if I write about my own process in searching for schools to apply to, other students might benefit from what I write here.

So, I suppose, there you have it.   Semi-regular posts regarding my grad-school search, less-regular posts featuring thoughtful essays.  I think that works for me.

About Whittier Strong

Whittier Strong is an MFA student in creative writing at the University of Alaska-Fairbanks, with a focus in nonfiction. He graduated from Metropolitan State University with a BA in creative writing. He has special interests in sociology and philosophy.

Posted on 20 January, 2013, in MFA, Personal life, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Good for you, Whittier! Glad to know that creative writing is something that brings you joy and a spirited life. I’d love to know where you end up in 2014 and beyond.

    Blessings,
    Liz, The Good Raised Up

Share your thoughts

