Forward

The reality for writers these days is to maintain a public blog.  This runs a bit counter to how I work, but I’m finding it necessary nonetheless.  So, then, I need to take this blog phenomenon and make it fit how I work.  There are two big things I’ve realised about my writing process lately:

1) I do most of my writing not related to school on weekends

2) I tend to think in fives.  I spent most of my growing up with five people in my family (my mother, my two brothers, my sister, and me.)  I favour a five-act structure over a three-act in writing.  I tend to break up my poems in five sections.
So, you can see that the way I work fits blogging well, if I write five days’ worth of material over the weekend.  And what I want to do is write series, five interrelated essays at a time.

I won’t guarantee I will write every week, at least at first.  It will be more reasonable to aspire to once I can get home internet access.  (I’m having unusual issues getting this set up.)  But I already know the first few series I want to write, some of them having sat in my head a long time and must finally come out.  The material will be social commentary and memoir, as most of what I write otherwise is poetry and fiction.
So, there.  This will not and cannot sit idle anymore.

About Whittier Strong

Whittier Strong is an MFA student in creative writing at the University of Alaska-Fairbanks, with a focus in nonfiction. He graduated from Metropolitan State University with a BA in creative writing. He has special interests in sociology and philosophy.

Posted on 13 August, 2012, in Personal life, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. That’s OK, just blog when you can. I enjoy reading your posts.

  2. I seriously love your website.. Pleasant colors & theme. Did you create this site yourself?
    Please reply back as I’m wanting to create my own blog and would like to find out where you got this from or what the theme is called. Appreciate it!

Share your thoughts

