Sleepy

Alas, I was looking forward today to writing a reflection on the one-week anniversary of OccupyMN, but this will have to wait til tomorrow.  I have a rare sleep disorder called by many names, but I usually refer to it as either non-24 sleep-wake disorder, or hypernychthemeral disorder, whichever comes to my mind first.  I am neurologically wired to run a 25-hour day, not 24.  I began this past summer a standard treatment of melatonin, which to this point had worked really well, but this week I’ve taken a beating, and I really need to go to sleep early tonight–after not being able to get a wink last night–in order to throw myself back into a diurnal schedule.

About Whittier Strong

Whittier Strong is an MFA student in creative writing at the University of Alaska-Fairbanks, with a focus in nonfiction. He graduated from Metropolitan State University with a BA in creative writing. He has special interests in sociology and philosophy.

Posted on 14 October, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Whittier… thank you for sharing. I’m really sorry to hear about your sleep disorder… I can’t imagine what that must feel like. I hope you can get some sleep tonight!

    John

  2. I didn’t get a proper diagnosis til last spring. Folks don’t understand why it’s not a matter of simply setting an extra alarm–if I’m in the wrong phase of sleep, I’m not going to hear it. (For the record, I do run both my clock-radio and my cell phone to go off, each at different times, each twice.)

Share your thoughts

